History of Maney Park
James William Maney was born January 3, 1862 in Pittsburgh, PA. His first position was as a civil engineer with the Union Pacific Railroad. At the age of 22, he went into the contracting business, building the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad into the unsettled Black Hills country in South Dakota. When Oklahoma was opened for settlement, Maney built the second railroad into the new state. He moved to the territory in 1889 and was active in the building of the railroad industry in Oklahoma.
In 1904, James Maney built this Victorian mansion at 917 N. Robinson. Soon after its construction, urban congestion began taking it toll on the residential area. The Oklahoma High School, now One Bell Central, and several large churches began to surround the home. In 1909 he decided to move the home to the country at NW 11th and Shartel Ave. where it now stands. His experience as one of America’s great railroad and bridge builders helped him move the large home to its present location. Although details of the move are sketchy, legend has it the house was cut in half and moved by mules and wagons as two pieces. Although there is no corroborating evidence this is true, there was a story in The Daily Oklahoman regarding a citation given to Mr. Maney for obstructing the passage of other wagons during the move. The home remained the Maney family residence until 1945. The house was then used by Catholic Charities and later rented to a woman who operated it as a boarding house until the mid 1970’s.
In 1979, Bill Bleakley, fearing the structure would be razed, bought the house and did extensive renovation to the structure. The second floor was converted into law offices and at two different times, restaurants were located in the basement. In 1985, he converted the basement, first, and third floors for the aspiring Oklahoma Gazette Newspaper. As Mr. Bleakley began to outgrow the Maney Mansion, he contacted Bob and Claudia Wright who had owned and operated a bed and breakfast for eight years, and asked if they would be interested in using the Maney House as a bed and breakfast.
In January 1997, The Maney House, one of Oklahoma City’s most beautiful, historic mansions, became The Grandison Inn at Maney Park, A Bed and Breakfast. This three story, 7000 square foot structure consists of nine bedrooms with private baths. Each room has it’s own unique theme and story. The main parlor, music parlor and dining rooms all maintain their Victorian splendor. Other items of note include the stained glass skylight, the grand staircase and a 100+ year-old settee, original to the Maney home.